Blockout dates help remind your team leader you're unavailable to serve for a time frame you set. When they try to schedule you for a date, they'll see a warning letting them know you're unavailable.
Watch the video or follow the steps to add, edit, and delete blockout dates.
Add Blockout Dates
Select blockout dates on the main dashboard.
You can also do this from your profile page.
Click a date or drag multiple dates on the calendar and start typing the reason for your blockout.
Add additional blockouts by clicking a date or dragging multiple dates to set the start and end dates.
Dates in dark red are dates you're currently editing; dates in medium red are dates you've just added but haven't saved yet. Dates in light red are dates you've added previously and are already saved.
- If you need to add blockout dates for someone else besides yourself, you can click in this box and start typing their name. Any blockout date added will be for the person whose name is listed in this box.
- Some people have a profile in more than one account, and they can choose if this blockout date is for one account or for all their Linked Accounts.
- Choose your Start and End Dates. End dates are only necessary if the blockout is over consecutive dates.
To specify times, deselect the All Day switch and set the times.
- If your date repeats, set the repeat options. If you choose months, you can also specify which day pattern (e.g., the last Tuesday, the first Wednesday), or an exact day (the 27th).
If the blockout is a repeating blockout, put your End Date here.
- Write in your reason, so your Team Leader can see it.
- If you create a date in error, click the "Delete" trash can icon on that date during or after editing.
- The Save button reaffirms how many new blockout dates you'll be adding.
Blockouts will block out that time frame for every team in Services. So, if you want to be available for one Team but not another, you can set that time frame as a preference in your profile.
My Calendar on the dashboard shows any blocked out dates in red with a small circle. Hover over the date in the calendar and click the blockout or the edit button to modify your blockout.
View All Blockouts
From the Master Calendar, you can view all blockouts. Select any name to see the details of the blockout.
If a person is shown to be blocked out multiple times, but they don't know why, the Master Calendar is a great place to start. Select the name of the person, and if the blockout was created in error, delete it directly from there.
Edit or Delete Simple Blockouts
Select a blockout date on the Master Calendar or in your profile to edit or delete it.
Once you click on a blockout, you can change any options or select Delete.
You cannot add repeat options to an existing simple blockout. Instead, you can delete it and create a new repeating blockout.
Edit or Delete Repeating Blockouts
Click on a blockout date on the Master Calendar or in your profile to edit or delete it.
When editing a repeating blockout, you cannot change the repeating options. You can change the dates, times, or the reason depending on the option you choose:
- ONE: Only edit the date you clicked on the calendar. All other recurrences will remain unchanged.
- FUTURE: Only the date you clicked and any repeating dates in the future will be changed. Dates prior to the selected date will remain unchanged. Your blockout actually gets split into two blockouts to accomplish this.
- ALL: All dates, even previous ones related to this pattern, will be changed. If you change the date, all other dates will shifted by the same amount.
If you want to delete a date, choose which Recurrence Option you'd like to delete first, then click the Delete button, which changes based on the selected recurrence option.
If you schedule weeks or months at a time, you may want to ask your volunteers to block out any dates before you schedule. You can do that by sending them a Blockout Request Email from the People Page.
At the bottom of the email are two links:
- Block Out Dates takes them to Services and opens the new Blockout Dates box.
- I Have No Blockouts button takes them to Services and gives them a message that their Team Leader (you) has been notified. Other Team Leaders will not receive this "No Blockouts" email, even if they have Blockout Notifications enabled, but they can see it in that user's email history.
You will receive an email depending on the option they choose.
If you'd like to receive an email every time someone on your team blocks out any dates, you will need to be a Team Leader with your notifications enabled for Blockout Dates.