When we updated Blockout Dates last year, it was no longer possible to block out any date before today. We didn't know why anyone would want to do that, so we disabled it to prevent accidents. Since then we've heard from many people who were used to doing this to keep accurate records for their teams.
As a result, you can now block out dates up to three months in the past again. Hopefully this helps those of you who needed it!