When a person is no longer serving at your church, we always recommend setting their site permission to Disabled instead of deleting their account. This keeps all the history of what they've done in the past, but they don't show up in future searches and don't count against the people limits on your account.
PCO Services is no longer the only app in town, though. Every church has a free, unlimited membership to another app, PCO People, our church membership app. All your team members that exist in PCO Services are actually stored behind-the-scenes in the PCO People app. In fact, PCO People can doesn't have limits on the number of people you have, so your entire church, not just team members, can be added. But now, just because a person is no longer serving as a volunteer, they might still be attending your church. As a result, when you disable someone's permissions in PCO Services, we no longer change their membership status in PCO People.
However, there is a flip side. If a person already has disabled permissions in PCO Services, and then they come back to your church and you give them permissions again, that can change things. If that person's membership status was Inactive in PCO People (they don't go to your church at all), then upgrading their permission in PCO Services from disabled to anything will change their membership type in PCO People from Inactive to Pending. The Pending membership status is used when someone's status might have been affected by a different PCO app.
If a person's membership status was Active in PCO People, then upgrading the PCO Services permission from disabled to anything won't change their membership status at all. It will stay Active.