Plan Templates

Created on:
Updated on:

Templates let you get your work done faster by saving a snapshot of things you reuse. You can create a separate template for each team or create a template with combined teams and service items. After creating a template, you can import or export it to a new or existing plan.

To go the Templates tab, click Templates from the gear menu in a Service Type.

Click on Templates

Create, Edit, or Delete Templates

Add, edit, or delete templates from the Templates tab in the Service Type.

Expand the sections below for more information on adding, editing, or deleting a template.

1. Create a New Template

Create as many templates as you need, and then import or export them when creating a new plan, or even any time after it's created.

To create a template, click Add template, type the name of the template, and press Enter.

Enter the name of the template

Choose a name that will define when to use your template!

You will be taken to a new template page, where you can make edits to the template.

2. Edit a Template

If you're not already on your template, choose a template from the Service Type Settings to make changes to it.

To edit a template, click the title of template.

  1. If you have people who volunteer in the same position most weeks, you can cut back on redundancy by  adding needed positions or scheduling people to make scheduling easier.
  2. Plan notes pertain to the whole plan. If you want a note to carry over to other plans, add it to your template.
  3. Edit the name of your template by clicking the current name and typing a new one.
  4. Import information from another template or plan or export this template and save it as a new template or a new plan, even in another Service Type.
  5. Add a header, item, media, or song by hovering over add an item.
  6. Add an item note by hovering over an item and clicking the pencil icon.

Times don't live in any templates. They come from the frequency of your Service Type and the last known Plan Times. When you create a new plan, it takes the times from your last known plan and replicates it according to the frequency.

Once you've finished editing your template, you can import it to a plan!

3. Delete a Template

From the Templates tab, hover over a template and click the red minus to delete it.

Click on Templates

Templates cannot be recovered once they're deleted; however, you could export a plan where you used the template in order to get some of the information back!

Import a Template or Plan

You can import a template or a recent plan into an existing plan. Recent plans include the last few plans you've viewed.

When you apply a template, information from the template is added to the existing plan. It won't alter the existing plan information.

Administrators and Editors have the permission to import items, notes, and people. Schedulers only have  permission to import people from Teams in which they are a Team Leader. 

From a plan, click import in the top right corner.

Set up your import preferences. You will only be able to choose items that are available in the template you're importing.

  1. Select the template or plan that you want to import.
  2. Deselect items, notes or teams from the template that you want to exclude from the import.
  3. Select My to view all teams you are a leader of or All for all teams.
  4. Plans that occur after this plan are listed. Check any plans in addition to the current plan that you want to import the template to.

Click Accept to apply the template or plan.

Importing a template doesn't link the template to your plan, so changes made to the template after the import will not affect any plans. If you import the template to existing plans, the template information will only add to the plan.

Export a Template or Plan

You can export information from a plan or template to create a new plan or template.

Administrators and Editors have the permission to export items, notes, and people. Schedulers only have  permission to export people from Teams in which they are a Team Leader. 

From an existing plan or template, click export in the top right corner.

Chose the options that you want to export from the template or plan.

  1. Deselect items, notes or teams from the template that you want to exclude from the export.
  2. Select My to view all teams you are a leader of or All for all teams.
  3. Choose whether you want to export the template to existing plans, create a new plan, or create a new template.

Open the sections below to learn more about the different export options.

Export to Existing Plans

If you choose to export the plan or template to existing plans, choose the Service Type and plans that you want to export to.

The template information will only add to existing information already in the plans.

Export to New Plan

If you choose to export the plan or template to new plan, set up the plan dates and times.

  1. Choose the Service Type for the new plan.
  2. Choose the number of plans you want to create and the date that you want the plans to start.
  3. Choose the plan that you want to copy times from.
Export to Template

Choose the Service Type and number of copies you want to create, and then name the template.

When you've finished setting up the export, click Submit to apply the changes.

How Importing Affects Existing Plans

When you import a template into an existing plan or export a plan or template to an existing plan, the plan is affected as follows:

  • The information that you import from the template will only add to the plan.
  • If needed positions exist in both the template and plan, the highest number of positions is used in the plan.
  • Each imported person will fill needed positions in the plan that aren't in the template. For example, if you have 4 needed positions in the plan for the band, and the template has one person scheduled to the band, that person will be scheduled to the plan and there will be 3 needed positions.
  • Importing a person does not change the status of the person in the plan.
Was this article helpful?
123 out of 221 found this helpful