Viewing Conflicts and Block-Out Dates when Scheduling

This lesson explains how to read conflicts and how to schedule around conflicts or block-out dates.

Conflicts

Conflicts

When you schedule a person, Planning Center looks at all times they are assigned to (the boxes checked on the right), and shows you if any of those times raise any issues. When looking at a person scheduled to a plan, if any conflicts exist, corresponding bubbles will appear under the status section. Hover over the conflicts section and the details will appear on the right.

Conflict Details

Conflict Details

Preferences. If your people have set scheduling preferences, and you are scheduling them beyond what they prefer, you will see 'Not Preferred'. In this case, it is saying that Aaron does not want to serve more than 1 time a month, at least for this particular position. If I were to go ahead and schedule him here, it would be exceeding that amount.

Conflicts. If you see a conflict, it will tell you on what other date and for which service this is an issue. If you are unsure of the conflict, look at the date of the conflict and go to that plan. Compare all times with the times in this plan and make sure that no minutes are overlapping.  Planning Center automatically shows a conflict, even if you are scheduling them to a position that can be done at the same time as another like Acoustic Guitar and Vocals, which is why we allow you to schedule volunteers despite conflicts.

Declines. Similar to conflicts, you'll get this warning if the person has already declined a request for overlapping times.

Blockouts. This is the warning you will get when you are trying to schedule an individual who has blocked out a date. You can choose to cancel, or you can schedule them anyway.  NOTE: If a person blocks out a date after you've scheduled them, it will automatically decline them and send you an email letting you know.

Have more questions? Submit a request