Create a New Service Type

Created on:
Updated on:

You can either create a Service Type from scratch or copy a service type if you want to duplicate settings from another plan.

Create a New Service Type

When you first sign up for Services, you're prompted to create a Service Type. If you need more Service Types later, you can add them and customize them to fit your church.

A Service Type is a container for your plans, teams, and templates. You don't need to create separate Service Types if your same service happens at multiple times; just add multiple times to plans within one Service Type.

From the main Plans page, click the gear menu, and then click Add Service Type.

Only Administrators have the option to add new Service Types and Folders.

Add a Service Type

Name your Service Type with the name that you want to communicate to your congregation, choose the frequency of the service type, and then select Next: Add Times.

choose default teams

Set Up Service Times

Enter the first date and time that the service will meet. If you have another regular service time for the service type, select Add another service time, and add that time. When your times are set up, select Next: Add Teams.

select times

Only add another service time for the same service type that occurs regularly. For example, a 9am and 11am Sunday worship service.

Add Teams

From the common list of team types, select any teams that you will lead for your service, and then select Finish.

add teams

The teams that you add will be new teams. You can edit or delete any that aren't exactly what you need later. If none of these teams are what you need, create your own teams with the positions that match your church.

Now that you've created the Service Type and added your first plan, you can edit the settings, add more information to your Plan, delete a Service Type, and assign team leaders, and add additional teams.

Once you add multiple Service Types, you can rearrange their order on the Plans page from their folder.

Copy a Service Type

You can duplicate a Service Type, its settings, and any teams within the Service Type, to another folder.

You might want to duplicate a Service Type if you are setting up a new campus and want to duplicate the structure of your existing campus.

What is duplicated?

When you copy a Service Type:

  • All Settings that are not people are duplicated. That means it does not copy the people in the Permissions to Control Live section, since those are specific people.
  • Everything on the teams tab including the top settings and the basic layout of all the teams is copied. It does not copy any team members or tags on tag teams. There will be no members or leaders of your new teams, just the team and positions.
  • Plans, Templates, Permissions, Team Members, and Team Leaders are not copied to the new Service Type.

In a Service Type, click the gear menu, and choose Settings.

Choose Service Type Settings

From the Service Type Settings page, click the copy icon in the top right corner.

Choose a folder from the Copy To dropdown.

If you want to copy the Service Type templates, check the box.

Choose Folder

When you duplicate Service Type templates, all assigned positions in the templates are converted into needed positions, adding them to any other needed positions if necessary.

After you click Submit, the Service Type will be copied to the folder that you chose.

Limit Reached?

Some older pricing packages limit the number of Service Types you're allowed to have. Your Organization Administrator can let you know how many you're allowed to create. If you try to create more than the allotted amount, you'll be prompted to upgrade your application.

Was this article helpful?
34 out of 44 found this helpful