Adding and Assigning Times

Created on:
Updated on:

Add, edit, or delete times and dates for your plans, and then assign teams to those times to avoid double-booking members of different teams.

Add Times to Plans

You can add a new time to a plan, edit an existing time, or delete a time.

  • To edit or delete an existing time, click on the time.

  • To add a time, click Add.

times_arrow.png

Add Service Times

Service Times are all the times people can attend this service. Make sure that Service is selected at the top, and then add additional time details.

modal_times_numbered.jpg
  1. Enter the date as well as the start and end time. A correct end time is important to make sure that scheduling conflicts are presented accurately.

  2. Teams assigned to this time will see the time on the plan once they are scheduled. If you don't want a team to be assigned to this time, click the red minus. Split Teams are assigned to service times automatically and cannot be removed.

  3. If you want an automated reminder email sent to people in any of your teams, choose when the email should be sent.

  4. Search for teams to assign to this time.

  5. Check this box if you want to create the time in upcoming plans that already exist. This option only shows if your Service Type frequency is Weekly.

Click Save to add the time to the plan and assign times to the selected teams.

Add Rehearsal or Other Times

Add details for a Rehearsal or Other time. Rehearsal Times are generally for music team rehearsals, and other times can be used for anything else, like Call Times or Pre-Service Prayer. Other than their label, they function the same.

Select Rehearsal to set times that your team is practicing or Other Times for any times that are not rehearsal or service times.

modal_other time_numbered.jpg
  1. Add a name for your time.

  2. Enter the date as well as the start and end time. A correct end time is important to make sure that scheduling conflicts are presented accurately.

  3. If you have Split Teams, you can choose which Split Team is assigned to the time. In the example above, the First Impressions 9am team is assigned to the 8:30am call time, and the 11am First Impressions team is assigned to a separate 10:30am call time.

  4. If you want an automated reminder email sent to people in any of your teams, choose when the email should be sent.

  5. Search for teams to assign to this time.

  6. Check this box if you want to create the time in upcoming plans that already exist. This option only shows if your Service Type frequency is Weekly.

Click Save to add the time to the plan and assign times to the selected teams.

Edit or Delete Times

After editing time information and assigned teams for the times, apply the edits to future plans and scheduled people, if necessary.

update time_numbered.jpg
  1. Check this box if you want the changes to also apply to your future plans. Any times with the same name, type, and time will be updated similarly.

    For example, changing a Band Rehearsal from 6pm to 6:30pm will change future Band Rehearsals that were at 6pm to 6:30pm.

  2. Check this box if you changed which teams are assigned to this time and you want to update everyone assigned to the affected teams.

    For example, if you have Cafe already scheduled and accidentally assigned them to Band Rehearsal, you can edit the Band Rehearsal, remove Cafe, and then check this box to unassign them.

  3. Delete the time.

After making edits to times, teams, and future plans or people, click Accept to apply your changes.

Assign New Teams to Multiple Times

If you make a new team and want to assign it to many times at once, even across plans in the future where the times aren't the same, you can use Time Adjustments. This saves you from editing each time individually.

Check out this clip from Planning Center University.

Click the dropdown menu in the Times section, and then select Team Assignments.

team assignments_arrow.jpg

After selecting your team, check the times the team should be assigned to and uncheck any times not needed for that team.

modal_time assignments.png

These time assignments reflect the current plan as well as all future plans. So, if you see a time not listed in this plan, it exists in a future plan. These assignments will be reflected in the times and on a person's schedule.

Viewing Time Assignments

You can respond to scheduling requests from the plan.

  • People with Viewer permissions and higher will see the times that they are scheduled for in bold. Times that they are not scheduled for will be grayed out.

  • Scheduled Viewers will only see the times that they are scheduled for.

Rescheduling Plans

If you need to reschedule your services, you can shift whole plans or orders of service out for as many as four weeks ahead.

From the left sidebar of any plan, expand the Times section, and then click the dropdown menu and select Reschedule Plan.

reschedule plan_arrow.png

Reschedule a Whole Plan

To reschedule a whole plan, choose Reschedule - Entire Plan.

modal_reschedule entire_numbered.png
  1. Choose how many weeks you want to shift your plans.

  2. Check to reset each person's status to their team's default status.

  3. Click Reschedule Plans.

All times in this plan and all future plans in this Service Type will be shifted. If later you decide you've shifted them too far, you can shift them backwards.

After you've made your changes, make sure to send everyone an email letting them know of the change. Any team members who now have pending assignments on the schedule will have buttons to accept or decline their rescheduled positions.

Reschedule Order Of Service

If you want to shift the content of a plan while leaving people in place, select Reschedule - Order of Service.

modal_reschedule order_numbered.png
  1. Choose how many weeks you want to shift your order of service.

  2. Check to move the Plan Notes along with the order of service.

  3. Click Reschedule Plans.

New plans are created to contain the order of service information and the original plans are retitled to "Rescheduled".

In the original plan, you can create a new service, unschedule your people, or delete the plan completely.

Was this article helpful?
94 out of 248 found this helpful