Emailing Your Teams

Created on:
Updated on:

There are two main types of emails that you can send to your teams:

  • Scheduling emails are related to specific plans, sent only to the team members scheduled to those plans. These emails include a link to the plan, assigned times, and buttons to respond if the person has not already confirmed. If a person has already been confirmed for a position, their email will not include buttons to accept or decline.
  • General emails are for an entire team or position, not just the team members scheduled to a specific plan. These emails can be sent from Team pages or the main People page.

You can also set up Automated reminder emails to remind teams of upcoming assignments.

Attachments aren't currently supported for emails sent from Planning Center.

Send a Scheduling Email

Scheduling emails can be sent to notify people that they have been scheduled. They can also be sent at any time to give updates about the plan.

After adding people to a plan, you need to manually send a scheduling email. Until you do, your team members will not see those plans in their schedule and will have an email icon next to their names in the team list.

An envelope icon means some people in that team still have an unsent prepared notification and cannot see the plan in their schedule. If you want your team members to have access to the plan as soon as you add them to it without receiving an email, uncheck the notification default the Team Settings.

There are three main steps to sending a scheduling email:

  1. Set up email recipients.
  2. Prepare and send the email.
  3. Check the email status.

Set up Email Recipients

You can set up emails to send to a team from a plan or matrix. You can also email an individual. See the sections below for more information on each of these options.

Email a Team From a Plan

To email people in a specific team, select Email from the team options dropdown.

Click 'Email' or 'Email these people'

To email everyone in the plan, not just a specific team, select email at the bottom of the Teams section.

If you are emailing a specific team that has people who have not yet been notified,  you will be taken directly to the email composer, where you can prepare and send the email.

Otherwise, you will be able to choose who to email.

Choose Who to Email
  1. Choose Prepared Notifications to only send to people with the envelope icon by their name, All Scheduled People to email everyone scheduled, or Needed Positions to email people to sign up for any available positions.
  2. Check which statuses you want to email.
  3. Choose the teams you want to email. Teams without people matching the options above will be hidden. If you get to this box from the Email button within a specific Team's Options menu, only that Team will be selected by default.
  4. If there are any Split Teams, select the people who are assigned to different time(s).
Email a Team From the Matrix

If you schedule multiple weeks at a time, email your people with all the plans they're scheduled for from the Matrix by selecting email these people.

Choose which teams you're emailing, and then select Accept be taken directly to the email composer, where you can prepare and send the email.

choose who to email
Email an Individual

Email an individual team member by selecting their name from a plan Teams list.

Click on the person's email address to email them directly.

You can also make edits to the Prepared Notification settings here, if necessary.

After the email recipients are set up, prepare and send the email.

Prepare and Send the Email

Once you choose who to email, choose a template, or customize your own subject and body.

Compose Your Email

People without email addresses will be crossed out on the list, so you see who will not receive an email.

To remove anyone from the email list, click the x next to that person's name.

Emails use the Liquid programming language to insert dynamic content into each email, like mail merge. When you send the email, each tag enclosed in {{ }} is replaced with the appropriate content for the person receiving the email:

  • {{to.first_name}} will be replaced with their first name when the email is sent.
  • You can also use {{to.last_name}} or {{to.name}}.
  • Edit your personal signature from your profile page, and it will be inserted at {{from.signature}}.

When finished entering information, select Send.

If you send a person multiple emails with the same text within a five minute time period, the person will receive one email with all of the notifications sent during that time period.

The email will include the information on thea team(s), position(s), and specific time(s) a person is scheduled to. Unconfirmed people will have buttons to Accept, Decline, and View This Service. People who are already confirmed for the position will have the button to View This Service, but will not have buttons to accept or decline.

Check Email Status

Since an email has been sent, the icon next to people's names, as well as the email icon in the Team dropdown menu, are gone.

After you've sent scheduling emails, select a person's name to see the status of the notification.

All done!

In the Notifications section, view when a scheduling email was prepared, sent, read, and responded.

After sending an email, it will be in the sending status for up to 5 minutes while the system waits to see if it can be combined with other similar messages to that person. If you see a response but no timestamp under Read, then the team member or a scheduler responded manually on the website, possibly without the team member ever opening the email.

You can also check the Communications tab in a person's profile to see all emails sent to that person.

Reschedule After Declines

When a person declines a scheduling request, a needed position is created for someone else to fill that spot, and decline emails include other people assigned to that position to quickly and easily reschedule someone else.

Rescheduling from the Decline email

Once the scheduler chooses someone else to fill that needed position, they'll be taken to the plan and see a notification.

If the person has declined more than one position or the list of people available to assign to the position is long, the notification email that you receive will not have a list of people that you can schedule. You will need to go to the plan to schedule another person.

If another scheduler tries to fill that position later, they will also be taken to the plan but will receive a notification that the position is no longer needed.

If additional needed positions exist, the second scheduler will be able to schedule another person without an error.

Send a General Email

General emails are used to send an email to everyone on a Team or Position, unassociated from plans. These emails can be sent from Team pages, or from the main People page.

Click the search icon in the main toolbar (or type the / shortcut key), search for your Team, and select it.

Inside a plan, hover over Scheduled People and click the settings icon.

From the Members tab, select the email icon from the All Team Members tab or any of the Position tabs.

The people listed in the tab will be populated in the To field, and you can fill in the information using an Email Template or entering your own subject and message.

Prepare and Send the Email

Once you choose who to email, choose a template, or customize your own subject and body.

Compose Your Email

People without email addresses will be crossed out on the list, so you see who will not receive an email.

To remove anyone from the email list, click the x next to that person's name; add anyone by typing over Add at the end of the list of recipients.

Emails use the Liquid programming language to insert dynamic content into each email, like mail merge. When you send the email, each tag enclosed in {{ }} is replaced with the appropriate content for the person receiving the email:

  • {{to.first_name}} will be replaced with their first name when the email is sent.
  • You can also use {{to.last_name}} or {{to.name}}.
  • Edit your personal signature from your profile page, and it will be inserted at {{from.signature}}.

When finished entering information, select Send.

Was this article helpful?
39 out of 74 found this helpful