Email Your Teams

Created on:
Updated on:

Working with volunteers well involves lots of communication. You want to make sure that everyone has the information they need when they need it to eliminate confusion and frustration. You can email your team in several ways, and deciding who to email will determine where and how you do this. 

Important

Emails are sent to the primary email address, except for Account Settings. Account Settings sends an email to every email address listed on an organization administrator or billing manager's profile.

All Team Members

Team Page

You can email all your team members from the team page. Choose All Team Members or a specific position, and then select the email icon.

email team members arrow.png

Tip

If your team is a split team, you can choose specific times from the dropdown.

People Page

From the People page, filter the page for the people you want to email, and then select the email icon.

email filtered people_arrow.png

If you only want to email certain people from the filtered list, click their pictures to select them.

Team Members with Time Preferences (Split Teams Only)

To email the team members who've selected a specific service time as their preferred time, filter to that time before emailing.

team_filter_to_time_arrow.png

Scheduled Team Members

If you want to inform your team about their assignments or send information related to a plan, email them from the plan.

These scheduling emails include:

  • Buttons to accept or decline positions for unconfirmed recipients

  • Times assigned to the recipient

  • Assigned plan notes

  • Any custom text you'd like to add

You can send scheduling emails to one or multiple teams.

send prepared notifications_numbered.png
  1. Email all the team members on a specific team by selecting Email from the dropdown arrow next to the team name.

  2. Email specific people who haven't been notified about the plan yet, select the email icon next to their name.

  3. To email everyone in the plan, click the email icon next to the green actions button.

Verify the people you're emailing before you compose your email.

Notice

If you choose to email just those who haven't yet been notified, you will skip the next step and be able to compose your email.

modal_recipients_numbered.png
  1. By default, the email is sent to the people scheduled to the plan. Select Signup Sheets instead if you want to email those who need to sign up for the plan.

  2. If you selected a specific team, they'll be listed here. If you're emailing everyone in the plan, your teams will be listed here.

    Notice

    Schedulers can only email their teams; they will not see Add.

  3. If there is more than one service time, you can add or remove the additional time to email just those assigned to a specific time.

  4. Choose the status of the members you'd like to email.

  5. If you only want to email those who haven't yet received a notification about the plan, check the box.

After you have set up your recipients, click Next to enter your message. You can also use an email template.

modal_email.png

Warning

It's not possible to attach files to an email sent from Services, so attach a file to a plan or a public file-sharing site, and then include where to find the attachment in your email.

When you are finished composing the email, click Send.

Save Email Information as a Note

After sending your email, the Save note option will appear if you've added new text to the body of a default email. If this new text is information that you would like your volunteers to be able to refer to later, save that info as a plan note where they can easily find it!

suggested_note_numbered.png
  1. A confirmation message shows the number of people who were sent the email.

  2. Use the dropdown to select the category for your note.

  3. Review or edit the text of the note.

  4. The note is automatically assigned to the team that you emailed, but you can remove or add teams here.

  5. Select Yes, save note to add this note to the plan.

Undelivered Emails

You can see a list of all the emails a person has received through Planning Center from the Communication tab on their profile page.

Open an email highlighted in red to see if the email failed or was dropped, and hover over the status to view the reason for the failure.

undelivered.png

Tip

To learn more about what specific error codes entail, check out Email Error Codes.

If someone mentions they didn't receive an email, or you see that an email failed to be delivered to them, try these things:

  • Check Planning Center People to make sure their email address isn't blocked.

  • Ask the person to follow the allowlisting instructions below.

If neither helps, contact support by selecting the ? in the top right corner of the product.

Allowlisting Emails

Allowlisting an email tells your email provider to place emails from specific senders into your inbox rather than marking those emails as spam. Doing this will help you and your congregation avoid going through your spam or junk folder to find emails from Planning Center.

Allowlisting may look a little different in each email provider, but the basic process involves adding these domains to your address book:

Select your email provider to learn how to allowlist domains in your email account:

After allowlisting those domains, Planning Center emails will always appear in your inbox, and these important emails won't slip through the cracks!

Was this article helpful?
112 out of 264 found this helpful