Permissions in Services

Created on:
Updated on:

 

A person's access in Services depends on both the default permissions set at the Services level and the permissions set for each individual person.

Share these articles with people based on their roles in your church to help them get the most out of Services:

Permissions Summary

The following table summarizes the Services access for each permission level, from lowest to highest. The higher-level permissions inherit access to all of the permissions below them.

Permission Level

Services Access Allowed

Scheduled viewer

  • View their My Schedule page and the plans they've been scheduled for after a notification email has been sent.

  • Scheduled viewers can see plans they're scheduled to but not other plans, songs, media, or people unless they have higher permissions elsewhere.

Viewer

  • View all plans, songs, and media even if they aren't scheduled for that plan.

  • View people on their teams on the People page.

Scheduler

  • View, create, and edit profiles.

  • Create and edit teams they lead.

  • Schedule people on teams they lead.

  • Add Rehearsal and Other times (but not Service times) in a plan.

Notice

Schedulers can only schedule and email people on teams they lead unless they use a third-party integration.

Editors

  • Add and edit all plans, people, and songs.

  • Upload data and can delete songs, media, people, and plans they've created.

Administrators

  • View and edit everything, including Service Type settings.

  • Delete songs, media, and people they've created unless permissions are set to Allow Admins To Delete Anything.

  • Create and edit tags for songs and people (only people with the General Permission set to Administrator).

  • Reschedule plans.

  • Copy Service Types.

  • Manage integrations - RehearsalPack, SongSelect (CCLI), Multitracks, RehearsalMix, and WorshipHouse Media.

Organization administrators

  • Edit or delete anything, even if they didn't create it.

  • Change permissions settings.

  • Oversee the entire Planning Center account (Organization administrators are assigned in Accounts).

Detailed Permissions

Highest Permission

These actions depend on the highest permission a person has across all folders or service types, listed in the header of a person's profile and on the People page.

general_permission_arrow.png

Table 1. Navigation

Highest Permission

Scheduled Viewer

Viewer

Scheduler

Editor

Administrator

View My Schedule

View plans

 

Songs and media libraries

 

People pages

 

*

*

Create/delete Service Types

 

 

 

 

Create folders

 

 

 

 

*

Delete folders

 

 

 

 

*


Table 2. People Page

Highest Permission

Viewer

Scheduler

Editor

Administrator

View People page

*

*

Remove “My Teams” filter

*

*

*

Export People CSV

 

*

*


Table 3. Profile

Highest Permission

Scheduler

Editor

Administrator

View sent or received emails in other profiles

Create people

*

*

Remove or archive people

*

Edit contact info

*

*

*

Edit people assignments

*

*

*

Edit people permissions

 

 

Set file access

 

*

*

Edit/delete tags

 

*

*


Table 4. Songs/Media

Highest Permission

Scheduler

Editor

Administrator

Edit songs and media

 

Delete songs, arrangements, media, and people

*

Upload song/media attachments

 


Service Type Permission

These actions depend on the person's permission for a specific service type, found in the permissions popup.

permissions_service_type_arrow.png

Table 5. Plans and Scheduling

Service Type Permission

Scheduler

Editor

Administrator

Add a plan

 

Delete a plan

 

Reschedule a plan

Edit service order

 

Edit service time

 

Edit Rehearsal or Other time

Add or edit plan notes

Edit, import, or export templates

✓ people only

Upload an attachment

 

Schedule people

Edit teams and positions

Delete teams and positions


Table 6. Services LIVE

Service Type Permission

Scheduled Viewer

Viewer

Scheduler

Editor

Administrator

View LIVE

Control LIVE

*

*

*

Take control from someone else

 

 

 

 

LIVE chat

*

Reset LIVE times in plan

 

 

 

 


General Permissions

These actions depend on the General Permission for all of Services, which can be found in the permissions popup.

permissions_general_arrow.png

Table 7. Account

General Permission

Administrator

Organization Administrator

Edit custom reports

Copy Service Type

Recover deleted Service Types

Restore archived Service Types


Contact Information Permissions

Giving people access to Planning Center depends on their role at your church. Staff and background-checked leaders may have enough trust to access people's information, whether to edit or view, but people outside of that trusted circle should be given lower permissions.

Important

Only organization administrators can edit profile information for people across all Planning Center products.

This table outlines who can access people's contact information based on their permissions in another product.

Can edit

Can view

No access

Account Settings

Organization administrators (in all products)

Billing managers

Calendar

People editor

People viewer

Any Event, Room, or Resource permission

Check-Ins

Editor

Viewer

Headcounter

Giving

Administrator

Bookkeeper

Reviewer

Counter

Groups

Administrator

Leader (based on group settings)

Group type manager (based on group settings)

Member (only people in their group)

People

Manager

Editor

Viewer

Publishing

Administrators

Registrations

Administrator

Manager (only attendees in signup)

Services

Administrator

Editor (based on settings)

Scheduler (based on settings)

Viewer (based on settings)

Scheduled viewer

Organization Administrator-Only Tasks

 

Organization administrators have access to specific parts of Planning Center that no other permission can access, so please familiarize yourself with them as early as possible.

Give Access

To give access to Services, go to the Actions menu in a person's profile and select Permissions.

actions_permissions_arrow.png

If you have a large organization using many folders or service types, you need to scale permissions so your team members can access exactly what they need.

Here's an example of how permissions would work for a staff member.

CleanShot_2023-10-05_at_16_03_44.png

Sara is the Youth Pastor at the Centerville Kingston campus, and here's how her permissions break down:

  • Since she's on staff and may need to see any plan, Sara's General Permission is Viewer. This permission applies to everything under it unless otherwise specified.

  • Sara primarily works at the Kingston campus, so she's a Scheduler permission for that folder, allowing her to schedule people in teams she leads across the service types in that folder. However, she doesn't need to schedule anything in the San Diego and Union City campuses, so her Same as Parent permissions set her access to Viewer.

  • Sara is not involved in the Kids or Special Events plans, so she has Viewer access, which allows her to stay in the loop without scheduling anything.

  • Because she is responsible for youth services, Sara is assigned Administrator for the Youth folder. The service types (not shown) are set to Same as Parent.

  • The service types under the Kingston folder are Same as Parent, meaning Sara is a scheduler for those service types.

  • She can access all files in a plan, song, and media based on the default account permissions.

When the permissions are set, you can send a welcome email to the person.

Important

Emails are sent to the primary email address, except for Account Settings. Account Settings sends an email to every email address listed on an organization administrator or billing manager's profile.

Remove Access

If you don't want a person to be able to access Services at all, you must archive their profile.

If you want to limit a person's access to a specific service type or folder, adjust their permissions accordingly. The lowest permission, scheduled viewer, prohibits a person from viewing anything unless they're specifically scheduled to the service type.

Removing a person's access will not notify them. When they try to log in, they will encounter an error page.

Was this article helpful?
384 out of 525 found this helpful