Creating or Archiving a Team

Created on:
Updated on:

To create a team, you need to add a new team to a Service Type. If you have teams you've used in the past but no longer plan to use, archive them. You can restore archived teams at any time.

Check out this video for an overview of how to create teams, and then see the article below for more details.

 

Create or Copy a Team

Teams belong to Service Types. From the Plans page, click the gear menu for a Service Type, and then select Teams.

From the Teams tab for a Service Type, click Add Team, and then enter your new team information.

You can copy team settings from an existing team or create a new team.

Copy a Team

If you have an existing team that is similar to the one you want to set up, you can copy that team.

copy a team
  1. Enter the new team name, and click Copy.
  2. Select the service type and team that you want to copy from.
  3. If you want to copy over team members from the existing team, check Include Team Members. Scheduling preferences for team members are not copied over to the new team.

If Include Team Members is not checked, team settings and positions will be copied to the new team, but any people or tags won't be assigned to the new team.

Create a New Team

If you don't have an existing team that you want to copy from, create a new team.

  1. Enter the team name, and click New.
  2. If you want to split team members between multiple service times, check Split Team.

Next Steps: After creating the team, add team members and positions.

Archive a Team

If you have a team you no longer plan to use, archive it instead of deleting it. Archiving allows you to retain all your scheduling history when you look at old plans, but the team will be hidden for future scheduling.

To archive a Team, go to the Service Type Teams tab, and click the name of a team in the list.

The Teams Page

Quickly archive a team by hovering over the team and typing x on your keyboard.

To archive the team, click the archive icon.

archive folder button
When Archived Teams are Hidden or Shown

Archived Teams are Hidden:

  • When scheduling people to a plan, you will not have the option to schedule them to an archived Team.
  • When viewing all the Teams within a Service Type, archived Teams will not show.
  • When filtering people, archived Teams will not present themselves as options.
  • The Team page will not list archived Teams, unless you specifically filter to the Archived Teams.
  • When looking at a person's profile, you will not see any archived teams in their Team assignments.

Archived Teams are Shown:

  • When viewing plans where people were already scheduled to those Teams.
  • On the Teams page when filtering to Archived Teams.

Delete a Team from a Service Type

You can delete a team from a Service Type, which can be recovered up to seven days after deletion, but we highly recommend archiving instead.

To delete an entire team from a Service Type, go to the Team page, and then select the trash can icon.

Restore a Team to a Service Type

Once you archive or delete a team, you can still restore it from a plan. Archived teams can be restored at any time.

Deleted Teams can only be restored within 7 days of deletion.

From the bottom of the Teams page, select the Show Recently Deleted Teams button below your teams list.

Recover team

Beside each of your Deleted and Archived teams, you'll see a Restore button. Select that button or use the 'r' hotkey while hovering over the team to make it active again.

Remove a Team from a Plan

If you have already scheduled team members or needed positions to a plan, you will need to delete the individual people and positions in order to completely remove the team.

For example, to remove the Orchestra team from this plan, remove any scheduled people, then remove the needed positions.

Delete person

After all needed positions are removed from the plan, the team no longer appears in the Teams list.

To add these people to the positions again, you will need to reschedule the needed positions and people.

Was this article helpful?
26 out of 48 found this helpful