Jun 14 - The New People Page

We've just given the main People page a huge upgrade and are rolling it out gradually based on permission, starting with Administrators. A new feature called My Teams makes it much easier to find your Team Members, plus we've added instant filtering with more filters and bulk editing. Take a look at this video and then read on for more information.

 

1. Universal Search

Along with the new People page, we're bringing phase one of a universal search bar. The search icon lives in the main toolbar and can be used from any page to search for people and jump directly to their profile.

UniversalSearch.gif

The results that pop up include each person's phone number and email address, so if you're trying to contact them, you don't even have to go to their profile page.

You can also use the / shortcut key to access universal search and immediately start typing. Just make sure you aren't already focused on a different text field.

In the future, we'll be adding other results into this box, including Songs and Media.

2. My Teams

One of our biggest goals with this new page was to make it easy to find people on your Teams, especially if you lead multiple teams. To do that, we've made a new feature called My Teams that groups all Teams you lead or are assigned to into one convenient list.

MyTeams.png

By default, we've applied a Teams filter that shows you any Team you lead. (If you aren't a Team Leader, you'll see any Team you are on.) In addition, Viewers will now only be able to see people from My Teams and won't be able to remove the My Teams filter.

3. Instant Filtering

Filters are now much more powerful and apply almost instantly. To add new filters, click the Filter button or hit f on your keyboard. The Filter sidebar appears and gives you options to filter by Team, Position, Tag, Tag Group, Dates, or Permissions.

Filters.png

In addition to making Team filters much easier with the My Teams grouping, there are also new options. You can now find people that do not belong to one specific tag. There are new date filters for Last Logged In and Last Scheduled, plus all Date filters allow quickly choosing relative dates, like Past Day, Week, or Month. In addition to finding people based on their Highest Permission, you can now find people based on their permission in a specific Folder or Service Type. And finally, we've added a Background Check filter that gets its data from our new Background Check feature.

4. Text Filters

Though most filtering starts from the filter menu, you can also add text filters from the filter bar itself. Just type a name, email address, or phone number right in the filter bar and hit enter, and your filter is applied.

TextFilter.gif

5. Pinned Filters

If you have a type of filter you want applied automatically each time you visit the People page, you can Pin it. Pinned filters turn yellow and keep whatever options you used most recently. The My Teams filter is pinned by default, but if you'd like to always see everyone in your account, you can unpin it and then remove it.

PinnedFilters.gif

Applying filters and options changes the web address of the page, so if you have different sets of filters that you use frequently, you can use your browser's bookmark feature to save the page and get those exact filters back.

6. Bulk Editing

You can now make changes to multiple people at once using Bulk Editing. First, hover over profile pictures and click the checkbox that appears. Once you've selected everyone, click the Bulk Edit button. From there, Schedulers and Editors can add Tags, remove Tags, and assign people to Teams. Administrators can also update permissions.

BulkSelect.gif

Also, any of the actions in the action bar (email, print, csv) can now apply to specific selections once they've been made. They also still work on the entire filter even without making selections.

7. Recent Bulk Updates

You can see a history of any Bulk Edits performed in the last 30 days. Click the Bulk Edit button and then click Recent Bulk Edits at the bottom left.

RecentBulkEdits.png

You'll see who performed the edit, what they changed, and be able to quickly reselect those same people to perform a new bulk edit.

8. Shortcut Keys

The People page has support for shortcut keys. Some of them work anywhere on the page, like typing e to bring up the emailer, and some of them do something based on which person your mouse is hovering over. You can type ? to bring up a list of all the shortcuts.

PeopleShortcuts.png

If you want to archive someone on the new People page, hover your mouse over them and hit x on your keyboard. You can also type d to jump to the Details tab on their profile to delete someone if you've never used them.

9. Edit Tags

The Tags page has gotten a brand new design, too. This one page now has tabs to edit Tags for People, Songs, Arrangements, and Media. The other main new thing is that if you assign Tag Groups to different folders, you can now use a filter to see just those Tag Groups.

Tags.png

10. The Teams Page

There is a brand new Teams tab at the top of the People page. From there, we show you My Teams by default, but you can also see Teams from anywhere else in your account. This page is designed in part to help you clean up Teams within your account. 

Teams.png

Click on any column header to sort by that column, which allows you see your Teams with the most members. Clicking the Last Scheduled column can show you which Teams haven't been used in a long time or possibly never.

To the far left is a potential errors column. You'll get this icon for any Teams that have never been scheduled or that have no members or positions. You can click any red value in the table itself to see more information about that potential error. If a Team has no members and has never been scheduled, clicking those errors will also give you the ability to delete the Team right from there.

Next Up: Team Pages

Our next big project is improving the individual Team pages. As part of that project, we plan to give you the ability to Archive teams. This will be another tool in helping you clean up your Teams to make sure your account stays organized without losing valuable scheduling information.

The Rollout Process

Over the coming weeks, we'll roll out all these changes to the People page one permission level at a time, starting with Administrators, and then sequentially to Editors, Schedulers, Viewers, and Scheduled Viewers. During this time, everyone will be allowed to switch between the old and new pages as much as needed.

After the full rollout is complete, we'll update the banner at the top of the page with a date, giving everyone at least one additional month to get used to the new page before switching everyone permanently over. We know even good change can be difficult, so we want to make sure you have plenty of time to get acclimated.

We really hope all these changes and improvements continue to help you be more efficient and make it easier to get even more power out of Planning Center Services.

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request