A Secure Team is any team that requires a background check. You can assign anyone to a secure team, even if they don't have a clear background check completed, but you will not be able to schedule them until the check has cleared.
Check out this video on Secure Teams or create your own Secure Teams by following the steps below.
Create a Secure Team
Make a team secure by checking the box next to Secure Team in the Team Settings.
See if a team is secure at a glance by looking for the badge icon next to the team name.
You can add people to your team who don't have a clear background check, but you can't schedule them to a plan until their background check clears. From the All Team Members tab, view who does and does not have a clear background check by looking for the badge icon next to their name.
If you try to schedule people whose statuses are not cleared or their background checks have expired, you'll receive a message, and the people will not be scheduled.
Background Checks are managed from the People database. From there you can integrate with our partner, Checkr, to order background checks, or you can manually set background check status if you want to use your own provider.
Watch this video to see how to use background checks or follow the steps below to clear your people in order to schedule them.
From the Lists tab in People, create a new list with the following rules:
Your tag may be something different, or you may have kept records in a different way. Use the rules in the list to best fit your scenario.
Once you Submit, select Actions and choose Bulk Action from the dropdown to make changes to everyone on the list at one time.
Set the application to People and the action to Set Background Check Status.
Change the Status to Clear and set the date it cleared. If it was different for each person, you can change it on their profile, or you can set it to Today.
Set a date the background check will expire to regularly keep up with background checks, and leave a note if necessary.
Select Update to set the background check of the people on the list.
Once the background check statuses are set to Clear, people can be added to plans.
Background Checks for Minors
Background checks cannot be run on minors. For anyone under 18 who you want to serve on a secure team, assign them a manual background check and set the expiration to the day they turn 18.
Assign them a manual background check in Planning Center People.
Set the Expiration date to the person's 18th birthday.
After the background check is assigned, you can schedule the person to a secure team.
If you try to schedule people whose statuses are not cleared or have expired background checks, you'll receive a message, and the people will not be scheduled.
Expired Background Checks
If a person's background check expires, they will still remain assigned to plans that they were scheduled to before their background check expired. Similarly, if a new background check is run and does not clear, they will still be on the schedule.
However, you will not be able to schedule people with expired or failed background checks to future plans.
You can use list automations to stay on top of checks that are expiring.
If a background check is declined or expired, the background check administrator will receive an email so they can personally follow up with the person or any other team leaders. It's usually best for a team leader to speak to them in person and manually remove them from any positions they have been scheduled to, rather than leave a sensitive situation to automations.
Secure Team Scheduling Messages
Also, If you drag someone from the people sidebar onto a Secure Team, you'll receive a message, and the person won't be added to the position.
If you try to schedule a person for a Secure Team, you'll see a banner with a shield in the conflict section, and Save is disabled.
If you try to schedule a team member, the person without a cleared background check will have the shield next to their name and cannot be clicked. Hovering over the shield will give you a message in the popup on the right.
In the newest versions of our app for Android and iOS, everything will function just like the web; however, our mobile website, or any apps made by third parties, will show Background Checks as scheduling preference warnings.
You will be able to select those people, but when you save, they won't actually be added to the plan.
To make any other changes to a team, visit their Team Settings.