Services LIVE

Services LIVE allows you to step through your plan in real time to keep track of timing, see your item notes right when you need them, and stay in sync. Only Editors and Administrators can control LIVE. If you have someone with lower permissions that needs the ability to use the chat or control LIVE, you can grant them access from the Service Type Settings.

To get to LIVE, select the live button on the top of a Plan page.

On the mobile app, tap the icon at the top or bottom of the page:

When you open LIVE, you'll be taken to the Normal Layout:

  1. Edit the time showing on the countdown and view what time service should end.
  2. Control the service with the arrows or release control to someone else.
  3. View the overall Order of Service
  4. See each Item Note as well as any Item Description
  5. Chat with others viewing LIVE, who are listed on the right sidebar. Each tab is a different "room" based on the Church Name and Service Type Name.

To add video, change the view, countdown, or lighting setting hover your mouse over the top of the screen to access the toolbar. In mobile, tap the dropdown arrow.

Top Toolbar

Add Video

Integrate Planning Center LIVE with any paid Ustream or Livestream streaming video channel or with Facebook Live to see live video in Planning Center LIVE. Only Administrators can set up video integration, but all users can see the video feed once it is setup.

Livestream and Ustream don't allow embedded videos at their free level. You'll be able to get an embed code, but when you click on the play button in Live, you'll be directed to their site to watch.

LiveStream

On your LiveStream video page, copy your embed code by clicking </> Embed, which will take you to the code.

LiveStream: Copy your embed code

Highlight and copy the embed code.

UStream

Go to your video stream share button in the lower right. Then choose the < > embed icon.

UStream: Copy your embed code

Click Copy to Clipboard.

Copy to Clipboard

Facebook Live

Go to your video stream on Facebook and click the upper-right of the post. Choose Embed.

Facebook Live: Copy your embed code

Highlight and copy all of the code (do not check the Include full post box) to your clipboard.

Copy to Clipboard

Hover your mouse over the top of the screen to add the video feed.

Paste the embed code into the white box by using the paste shortcut (control-v or command-v) or use your internet browser's edit menu and choose paste.

Paste the embed code and save

Choose Save and your video stream is enabled.

Adding video can only be done on the web app; video settings are not available on the mobile app.

Change the View

Hover your mouse over the top of the screen and choose the second dropdown menu to change the view of the device. In mobile, tap the dropdown arrow.

Countdown Full

This view is great for speakers to easily see how much time is left. It shows only the main countdown and the estimated time service will end.

While in Countdown Full view, there are three different countdown modes, which will change the big countdown number but not the small service end estimator.

Countdown Lower

This view is great for churches that use live video to be shared elsewhere on campus like the nursery. By default, the screen will be green which allows you to use a live video mixer to replace the green with your video. If you already have a stream, you can Add that Video, and the green will be replaced with your streaming video.

Lower Third

This is nearly identical to Countdown Lower except instead of a countdown, your Current and Next items are displayed. When combined with the Add Video step, this makes a great view for lobby/foyer displays.

Fullscreen Overview

As with the Countdown Full view, the focal point of this view is the countdown. However, this view adds a Now and Next view, which is helpful for the speaker to lead in or introduce the next item or speaker.

Change the Countdown

Hover your mouse over the top of the screen and select the third dropdown box to change the countdown. In mobile, tap the dropdown arrow.

  • Full Item Length: The countdown will start with the time of the item and count down to its full set item time.
  • End Item on Time: The countdown will start based on what time the item itself needs to end.
  • End Service on Time: The countdown will start based on what time the service needs to end.

Change the Lighting

Hover your mouse over the top of the screen and choose Light or Dark.

In mobile, tap the dropdown arrow and tap the sun icon or moon icon.

Controlling LIVE

LIVE only works if someone changes from item to item. People with permissions to LIVE can take control and go from item to item to ensure accurate time is recorded. This setting looks different depending on who is in control:

You are in control and can release control in order for someone else to take control.

No one is in control

Someone else is in control:

Administrators can take control even if another user is in control. If you are an Administrator, you will see the name of the person who is in control in a button and when you select it, you can choose to take control from them.

Use Prev and Next to advance through the service.

 

Hotkeys: Previous -- Next

  • Left -- Right
  • Up -- Down
  • Page Up -- Page Down
  • Space -- Shift+Space

LIVE Times After the Service

If you or someone else went into Live and clicked through, your plan may look like this:

If you or someone else went into Live and clicked through, your plan may look like this:

You can choose to create a report with those times in order to see your original plan and real times side by side, or you can reset the times to clear them.

Report on Times

If you'd like to see these times in a report, select print at the top of the plan and select the Standard Report.

Check the box under LIVE Plan Times to ensure the new times print on your report. They will print next to your original plan times if that box is checked.

Choose Accept to populate the report.

All the conversation in Chat will also be printed on this report!

Reset Times

To reset the times, click the link to clear the times.

If you or someone else went into Live and clicked through, your plan may look like this:

Your times will go back to their original plan times.

Your times are reset!
Have more questions? Submit a request